Module 16: Sleep Stages

Module 16: Sleep Stages


Download Module 16


The Sleep Stage module will cover the history of staging sleep. This module also covers the required channels for reading and scoring EEG. It addresses specific electrode placement by following the 10-20 system, as well as the electrode recommended and alternative locations and derivations. It will identify the different stages of sleep, covering each individual stage and the requirements involved in scoring them.

Upon completion of this module students should be able to:

• Have a basic understanding of the history behind sleep staging
• Understand and know the placement of the electrodes used in reading and identifying sleep stages.
• The 10-20 system as it pertains to Polysomnography
• The student will be able to identify the different stages of sleep and scoring requirements for each stage.

Please compete the quiz following the module to receive your CE.

This course awards 1.00 hour of Continuing Education Credit.


Students must be registered in order to receive a certificate of completion.

The American Sleep and Breathing Academy’s online module curriculum has been designated by the Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT) as an alternative educational program for purposes of establishing eligibility to sit for the RPSGT exam. The curriculum is not recognized by the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) for purposes of AASM facility accreditation.

Those students who have passed the BRPT exam or who are eligible to take the exam under Pathway #2, or those who are enrolled in or graduated from a CAAHEP Program do not need to be enrolled in a module program.